About Us

In our group, we start from psychophysical experiments in humans that test hypotheses on the mechanisms of perception and attention, as well as learning and memory.

The paradigms we build that way are then used to explore underlying neural mechanisms. To that aim, in human experiments we have been using fMRI, EEG and MEG), while in animals we use neurophysiology and molecular approaches for specific fundamental questions that cannot be answered via human research.

Current foci of interest include the contributions of feedforward and feedback connections to attention and learning, the neural and molecular mechanisms of long-term changes in sensory cortex due to learning or other forms of experience, the contributions of attention and mere (unconscious) exposure to long-term plastic changes, and the stability of long-term modifications (consolidation, reactivation, reconsolidation, interference, etc.). Our most recent interest is memory of time. In our theoretical approach, we are interested in considering the role of oscillations and interactions across frequency bands. We have a special interest in the contributions of microsaccades to perception, attention, and learning.

Current core members (click on the name for more info):

Yawen Wang, PhD candidate, Maastricht University
Selma Kemmerer, PhD candidate, Maastricht University
Miriam Heynckes, PhD candidate, Maastricht University
Vincent van de Ven, Associate Professor, Maastricht University
Mark Roberts, Senior Researcher, Maastricht University
Gesa Lange, Postdoctoral Researcher, Maastricht University
Peter De Weerd, Professor, Maastricht University

We are associated with:

Human Enhancement and Learning (HEaL) Maastricht Centre for Systems Biology Maastricht Brain Imaging Center

Other current PALM members / visiting students:

Ana Maria Alzate Sanchez (CN Ma graduated in 2017)
Juraj Bevandić, (1st Y CN RMa stud. FPN)
Florian Bohr (1st Y CN RMa stud. FPN)
Marcia Diaz Claudio (Ba Stud. FPN)
Tim Dick (Ba Stud. FPN)
Julie Düster (Ba Stud. FPN)
Kathi Eickhoff (1st Y CN RMa Stud. FPN)
Sofoklis Goulis (Ba Stud. FPN)
Ibrahim Hashim (UM Science College Ba Graduated in 2018)
Luca Kämmer (Ba Stud. FPN)
Dido Knöpfel (Ba Stud. FPN)
Rutger van de Mortel (1Y Ma Stud. FPN)
Kathy Otten (1Y Ma Stud. FPN)
Alex Prodan (Ba Stud. FHML / FPN)
Reine Ramaekers (1st Y RMa Stud. FPN)
Dominika Repčiková (Ba Stud. FPN)
Sophia Snipes (2nd Y RMa Stud. FPN)
Emil Stobbe (1st Y RMa Stud. FPN)
Danique la Torre (2nd Y RMa Stud. FPN)

Current collaborators (non-exhaustive):

Pietro Bonizzi, Assistant Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Miguel Castello-Branco, University of Coimbra, PT
Federico Demartino, Associate Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Elia Formisano, Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Pascal Fries, Professor, Ernst Strüngmann Institute (ESI) for Neuroscience in Cooperation with Max Planck, GE
Bea de Gelder, Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Rainer Goebel, Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Ole Jensen, Professor, University of Bermingham, EN
Karel Joel, Assistant Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Lisa Jonkman, Associate Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Eric Lowet, Postdoctoral Researcher, MIT, USA
Gerard Martens, Professor, Radboud University, NLs
Michelle Moerel, Assistant Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Alex Sack, Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Mario Senden, Postdoctoral Researcher, Maastricht University, NL
Fren Smulders, Assistant Professor, Maastricht University, NL
Lourens Waldorp, Assistant Professor, University of Amsterdam, NLs

Website design and maintenance:

Lorenzo Frangella (Ba Stud. FPN)


Left PALM before 2016:

Britta Graewe (PhD in 2013, now working as a UX strategist, Cape Town, South-Africa)
Marieke Mur (PhD in 2011, now at Cambridge University, UK)
Marin Been (PhD in 2012, now student counsellor at Maastricht University, NLs)
Mehrdad Seirafi (PhD in 2013, bedrijfsleider van EmoSys, Maastricht, NLs)
Alexandra Ramaekers (now working at Pupil Labs, GE)
Rosanne Rademaker (PhD in 2015, now postdoctoral researcher in the Tong lab at UCSD, USA)
Rekha Varrier (CN RMa graduated in 2015, now PhD student at Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience, Berlin, GE).

Left PALM in 2016:

Astrid Valles (Postdoc 2007- 2016, now working at Uniqure, N.V., NLs)
Eric Lowet (PhD in 2016, postdoc in Desimone lab, now postdoc in the Chen lab, MIT, Boston, USA)
Marco De Battista (Ba graduation 2016, University College Maastricht)
Oana Iosif (Ma graduation 2016, now PhD student at Aberdeen University, UK).

Left PALM in 2017:

Filipe Sá Pereira Lopes Da Cunha (CN Ma graduated in 2017)
Mircea van der Plas (CN RMa graduated in 2017)
Olaf Karasch (Ba Science College graduated in 2017)
Celia Gkavanozi (CN Ma graduated in 2017)
Sophie Benitez Stulz (2nd Y RMa Student)
Bert Jans (PhD in 2011, Postdoc until 2017, now researcher at Thalento consultancy in Hasselt, BE)
Julia Lifanov (CN RMa graduated in 2017, currently PhD candidate in Maria Wimber Lab at University of Birmingham, UK)
Tracey van der Veen (admitted for Ma studies at King’s College London)
Maarten Leenders (PhD candidate, now IT specialist at Yoast, Nijmegen, NLs)
Koen Frolichs (CN RMa graduated in 2017)

Associated PhD students (in co-promotorship):

Fabian van den Berg (promotor Lisa Jonkman)
Isma Zulfiqar (promotor Elia Formisano)
Maryam Karimian (promotor Ronald Westra, and co-promotor Mario Senden)